Theatre of Dare Awards Performing Arts Scholarships

Three Dare County students receive $1,000 each



(Manteo, NC) – Theatre of Dare, the home of community theater for North Carolina’s Outer Banks, this week awarded three $1,000 scholarships to deserving Dare County seniors planning to major in the performing arts. The proceeds all come from the 50/50 raffles that are held during T.O.D. productions.


This year’s recipients are:


  • Alexandra Byers, First Flight High School, who plans to major in music performance at Elon University in Elon, NC

  • Mac McClary, First Flight High School, who plans to major in lighting design at the University of North Carolina School of the Arts in Winston-Salem, NC

  • Kelsea Sexton, Manteo High School, who plans to major in sound design and film at Savannah College of the Arts in Savannah, GA.


“We’re so honored to be giving out three scholarships this year,” said Theatre of Dare Scholarship Coordinator Jessica Sands. “Our audiences were incredibly generous this season, and that has allowed us to give out more than we ever have. We’re all looking forward to seeing what these three students go on to achieve in their promising careers.”


Theatre of Dare scholarships are awarded each year to high school seniors from Dare, Currituck or Hyde counties majoring in the performing arts. T.O.D. is a non-profit organization that has performed live community theater productions on the Outer Banks since 1992. The group’s upcoming 28th season will include The Rocky Horror Show, Tuesdays With Morrie,

A Midsummer Night’s Dream and The Nerd.